The Twin Angels Pueblo includes the ruins of two masonry structures. The largest contains 17 rooms and two enclosed circular kivas. Adjacent to this unit is a four-room structure. Both roomblocks were build using the same techniques as the Chacoan structures in Chaco Canyon.
Portions of the Twin Angels site were excavated in 1915 by Earl Morris, one of the first archaeologists to work in the region. The excavations were exposed the fine core and veneer walls characteristic of most Chacoan outliers. Tabular veneer stones were carefully shaped, then laid in horizontal rows. Smaller stones were placed between the rows, creating a banding effect.
The site was built and occupied between A.D. 1050 and 1260. Twin Angels is unique in many ways relative to other Chacoan outliers. The pueblo does not have an associated community, or great kiva, nor is it located in an area suitable for farming. The great North Road connecting Chaco canyon to outlying sites over 45 (72 km) to the north, is thought to have passed near the base of the promontory on which the site is located.
The road probably extended northwest from below Twin Angels to Salmon Ruin, at the junction of Kutz Canyon and the San Juan River. Twin Angels may have been used as a way station for travelers passing along the Great North Road.
Twin Angels was fenced to keep livestock and vehicles from disturbing the site and 40 acres around Twin Angels was designated as closed to off-road-vehicles. The Bureau of Land Management monitors the site to assess the sites' condition.
Twin Angles Pueblo is also one of the 33 Chacoan Outliers which have been designated as Archeological Protection Sites by the U.S. Congress. This law recognizes Twin Angels as a unique chacoan site, provides for the preservation and protection, and facilitates archeological research related to the chacoan system.
The text for this page was obtained from a flyer published by the Bureau of Land Management. The pictures were taken by myself on March 9, 1997.
Back to the Ruins page